Four Resolutions for this Introverted Business Person

So the first full week of 2015 is in the books. How are you feeling about how things are going so far for you? Did you make resolutions? I personally don’t really make resolutions, but as a business person I found I needed to set goals for this year so that I could set the course for my business and my life.

I’ve spent the last few weeks reviewing 2014, looking at where things went wrong and at where I had big successes. I’ve shared with you my Top 7 Sellers for 2014 and looking back at those sales helped give me some direction when it came to developing candle fragrances and moving forward with my product development. However, there are marketing goals and new services and financial goals and Big CEO Ideas (did you know, I’m a CEO?!) too that need my attention this year. All of these things can be overwhelming for any business person. And when you’re an introverted business person they can start to take over your every waking moment!

Before I go further into my business resolutions, I want to be sure that you know that as an introvert I still like people. Yes, it’s true! 🙂 For some reason it’s a common misconception that introverts are bitchy, loners, homicidal/suicidal, boring, shy, stuck up, uncaring robots. Well my friends that is so not true! I love people. I care deeply about people. I really do want to have friends and get to know new people! I just need to take you on one or two at a time and I need to think before I act and I need time alone to recharge. That’s it!

-6b649819-cdbd-47dc-911b-1a60527bf043

If you want to think about it in super hero terms – extroverts are like Iron Man/Tony Stark who thrive on interaction and attention, don’t have a problem with people knowing they are a super hero and have a big open impact on the world. And I love Iron Man! He has a presence and he’s engaging. Introverts, we’re more like Batman/Bruce Wayne. He tries to avoid attention when he can and would prefer to spend time in the Bat Cave or at the mansion, tinkering on new devices, reading and doing everything he can to hide he’s The Batman.  He doesn’t want the attention, but at the end of the day he’s successful in getting the job done. There is room for all of us in the super hero world and I’m proud to be an introvert!

With all that said, I know that there are things I have to do as a person to conform to what’s expected of a business person. And if I want to meet my goals for this year I’m going to have to stretch and reach and push to act so that every waking moment is caught up in thinking about what I should be doing, but actually DOING what I should be doing. However, I’m not going to do that at the expense of who I am. So I decided to make 4 resolutions for this year that will move me comfortably forward and still maintain who I am.

DeathtoStock_Medium10 600x400

Resolution/Goal #1: Connect

This is my word for 2015! I’m excited to be able to have a theme to keep me going this year. And it’s one that I know will help me grow as a person and help my business grow as well. So how will I do that? The first thing is to blog more! I mean, a lot more. I am working on topics for the next 3 months so that I can continue to write more about myself and my business and hopefully connect more with you, my readers and customers.  I’ve also added the commitment to be more present on Instagram and continue my presence on Facebook to share my inspirations, product ideas, sales and other business related things. And the great thing about this goal – it’s primarily online. So I can connect when I know I’m fully charged and ready to engage. As an introvert I need this bit of control to make sure I’m my best “me” when I connect with you!

try-new-things

photo from: seanwes.com

Resolution/Goal #2: Try New Things

Okay, it’s easy to say this. “I’m going to try new things this year.” However, as an introvert this is a scary resolution. Not because we don’t like trying new things, but because we can really get in our heads about it and we sometimes get stuck in the “thinking about trying new things” and never get to the trying. So I’m challenging myself to get out of my comfort zone. The first thing I’ve done so far is sign up for an exciting opportunity to work with other creative business people at a weekend retreat at the end of February. So not only am I am going away for a weekend with a bunch of people I don’t know, I’m exposing my humble little business to some high powered, smart, amazing people in the creative business universe. I am SOOO excited to have this opportunity. And scared. To. Death. I am also considering adding new products to my business that aren’t actual candles and I’m even thinking about doing video blogging. Yikes! But you can’t stretch yourself without trying. So I’m making a commitment to doing these things and not just thinking about doing them. We’ll see how it goes!

DSCF7236 600x400

Resolution/Goal #3: Keep Balanced

Okay you want to know something else about me? I’m a Type-A personality. Yep. Combine that with being an introvert. Yeah, you try living in my head! 🙂 So not only do I think about my work a lot because I’m an introvert, I work a lot because I’m a Type-A personality. I’m in it to win it, baby! But those two sides of my personality fight each other a lot. And my goal this year is to be balanced in how I spend my time. Last year I learned that I needed to have a daily/weekly schedule to stay focused on what needed to get done. It was amazing and totally common sense. But when you are {this} close to your business every day sometimes common sense gets put in a corner and you go nuts doing and doing and at the end of the day you’ve not accomplished the important stuff. So this goal is really important. I will continue to use the daily schedule, and I will also ensure that I add in time that’s just planning so that my introvert side can run the show for a bit too. There needs to be balance so that my two strengths – planning and getting stuff done – can work in harmony and in the end be my strategic plan for accomplishing everything I want to do this year.

DeathtoStock_Creative Community6 600x400

Resolution/Goal #4: Self Care

Although spa days and shopping sprees can be fun ways to spend my time, what I really need to recharge is time alone. Time with my books or my crochet project. Getting up early and sitting with my coffee and watching the sunrise.  Having time to watch trashy TV (Yes, I still love Vampire Diaries!) in my PJ’s alone on a Friday night. Those are all ways I like to recharge and get my energy back to work with the world again. And you know what, this year I’m not going to feel bad about it. In past years, I’ve always felt like I was being selfish or that I was the “boring one”. I felt bad about being myself. But guess what? I’m. Done. With. That. No more negative thinking about who I am. That said, I’m not going to be burrowing away and hiding (see #1 up there). I’m just going to be okay with self-care and I’m going to commit to having it and being okay with how I spend that time. No more judgment, no more negativity.

So there’s my list! What are your goals for this year? And if you are an introvert, raise your hand! Can you relate to any of these goals? And if you think you are a different super hero – tell me!

4 thoughts on “Four Resolutions for this Introverted Business Person

  1. Thank you for sharing all this about you. That is so great that you are taking yourself out of your comfort zone to help your business. I am inspired by your goals and I have been feeling that I need to set some of my own for myself. Happy 20151

    • Thanks, Lisa! The goals are my mantra for this year. And I don’t expect perfection, but I hope to keep those resolutions in mind as I take on new projects throughout the year. I’m glad I was able to inspire you to set some goals. You can do it!

  2. Pingback: How Do you Connect with Your Favorite Authors? | Where the Story is Told

  3. Wow, it’s like you were in my head 🙂 From a fellow introvert, I can relate to everything you’ve said. I’ve already put in place changes for 2015 and it’s going to be an awesome year. Thank you for this post and for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

