Tools of the Trade: Part 2

Now that you’ve seen some of the more standard tools of the trade, I thought I’d share with you a few secret tools I use that have helped me be more precise in a couple of important areas.

wick center stick wick center

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, by now you are probably sick of me talking about wicks. LOL But as you know they are one of the key components to a quality candle experience. And this has to do with centering again…but now I’m sharing a secret tip! 🙂 So, you know I have to figure out a way to get the wick centered at the base inside that container. And since I don’t have freakishly small hands or long fingers, I had to come up with something else. I found that using the hollow part of a stick pen is the perfect tool to hold the pre-tabbed wick and place it in the container. No trying to cram my hands inside the container! It’s super fast and if something happens to the pen, I can easily find a replacement in a drawer somewhere at home! 🙂

toothpicksI have to give credit where credit is due on this one. I wish I had thought of it on my own!! So I was struggling to figure out how to take the high quality dye I use and make softer colors with them. You can only go so light even with just a single drop. So I called up my supplier, Rustic Escentuals/Aroma Haven, and Mel there advised me to use toothpicks. Basically, I dip the tip of the toothpick into dye and then swirl it in the hot wax. It works! It can be a little challenging to coordinate holding the bottle just right without spilling, but it’s an amazing trick that has expanded my color palette exponentially!

Leave a Reply

