Tools of the Trade: Part 1

Every once in a while I like to give you all a behind the scenes glimpse in to my working process. It’s been a while so I thought this blog series would be a great opportunity to share with you some of the tools of the trade related to candle making.

Most people know about the basics – wax, fragrance, melting pots. Melt the wax, add fragrance (and color) and pour into the container. But there are a few things that are really important that don’t always seem obvious.

wick holder with wax wick holder

One thing that is super important to burn is having a centered wick. As we discussed before burn is very important in the overall quality of your candle experience. I use these really neat tools to center my wicks as much as possible. As you can see from these pictures, the wick centering tool is placed on top of the container with the wick threaded through the center hole. I slide the wick into the small notch next to the hole and it holds the wick still. Sometimes I have to adjust the wick and or tool to make sure the wick is as centered as possible.

wick trimmer

I know that I already mentioned the importance of this tool during the Candle Care week, but wick trimmers are important for finishing up your candles before I ship them off. After the candle is dry, I use the wick trimmers to trim the wick and remove the wick centering tool. Because the wax is soft, trying to just pull the centering tool out can cause damage to the wick. I trim just underneath the centering tool. This usually leaves more than 1/4 inch of wick left, but I prefer to leave it a little long so you can trim it properly at home.

Leave a Reply

