Scent Science

lavender

Psychology Today says that scent is the first sense we develop after we are born. Scent calms us, helps us pick our mate and affects our brain is so many ways. Scent is also related to memories – grandma’s kitchen, a boyfriend’s favorite cologne, fresh cut grass at your favorite park, etc.

This is why scent is such a personal experience.

It’s so important (to me) that my customers like my fragrances. I do all sorts of things to ensure the experience is the best quality that I can provide. However, there are times when the fragrance and the customer don’t match up well. And when that happens, it really comes down to their nose. I can have one customer tell me they LOVE a candle fragrance and then another tell me they can hardly smell it and then a third person say they don’t like the fragrance at all. Nothing about the candle changes, but their nose, and ultimately their brain, decide what’s going on with the scent.

This also comes up when I am working with authors on custom fragrances. I never get my feelings hurt when they pick one scent over another. I know that each sample is good, but its their personal preference. And I also try to help them understand how amazing it is to have a scent to relate to their book. It’s there in the person’s mind and they then will have their book/story in the memory banks of their readers twice over with a candle fragrance. And think about all the discussions and recommendations for the books that can be made based on the fragrance being burned regularly! I don’t know many bookmarks that can do that! 🙂 (No offense to bookmarks of course, they serve an important purpose to us readers!)

What are some fragrances that bring back fond memories for you?

 

Leave a Reply

