A Lesson Learned

Murphy’s Law has come to live at my  house. This morning I tried to print 50 business cards and not one printed properly. Yesterday I thought I had a pickup scheduled for my shipments and the request on my USPS app never went through. I went to pour 70 samples for one of my marketing sources, and not only did I use the last of the fragrance oil, but the wax poured exactly 69 cups. Seriously, it’s been a frustrating few days here at Book Scents central.

So no cute cartoons today or inspirational pictures. My mood and my luck are afraid of what might happen. Is a computer crash next? Ha!

As a solopreneur, it’s a real challenge to keep going when this kind of stuff happens. This small list is only a glimpse of this past week. When you are on your own, running your biz from home, its easy to think “no more, I’m done” and just give up when things get rough. Finding motivation and the inspiration to keep going can be tough. In my heart I know I’d never give up, but there’s a piece of me that just wants to curl up and hide for awhile. 🙂

The lesson I’ve learned is that I may work on my own, but I’m not alone. When things have come up and I’ve felt defeated, I’ve been able to reach out to others who keep me moving. My biz BFF helps me off the proverbial cliff’s edge and reminds me that what’s going on is just a stumbling block. My Creative Crew shares their challenges and I realize it’s not just me having days like this. And sometimes a good friend can help you understand that all those feelings you’re having about this problem or that obstacle are completely normal and not crazy. It’s reassuring to know I’m not crazy! Hahaha! Finally, a kind word from a customer who loves your work reminds you that you are doing something right and that people appreciate all the challenges you overcome to provide them with something they enjoy.

Whether it’s business or personal – surround yourself with people who can lift you up, share in your brand of “crazy” and always have your back. I am so thankful to have a team of people around me who never let me give up. They give me perspective. They give me advice. Most of all, they give me love. And for that I’m truly grateful.

2 thoughts on “A Lesson Learned

  1. Nalana, I am so grateful for all your hard work. You provide me with time to sit and think about my favorite characters. You make them a little more real! You are the Scent Fairy!!

Leave a Reply

