Should I ditch setting goals for my business?

goals

When I started this blog, I said one of the things I’d share with you would be the “behind the scenes” aspects to running my business. So today that’s what I’m doing!

Recently I was introduced to a free online class – The Yogipreneur Fired Up & Focused Challenge. At first, I wasn’t sure if it was for me. It seemed that the focus was on businesses who conducted training or educational businesses or ran personal yoga classes. Really touchy feely stuff compared to my business. But I decided it was free and if I could find the time to watch a video that wasn’t longer than 15 minutes every day (or a few in a day), it was worth the effort to see what it was all about.

I am SO GLAD I kept at it. This program has changed how I approach my business in a long term way as well as on a daily basis. I would recommend it to anyone who is running a business of their own and feeling overwhelmed with all the things that need to be done each day, week, month, etc.

But back to the particular class that has me writing this post. It was a class on how to rethink goal setting. The YogiPreneur, Rachael, shares the idea that goal setting is ultimately going to let you down. Yes, that’s right. Think about all those New Year resolutions started, but never finished…I know I’ve got a few I never even started! She says that the problem is that you can’t control the outcomes…but you can control the process! Let me tell you I like to be in control and this got my attention! 🙂

So if you give up goal setting, what can you do? Well, as a Type-A, I was surprised at how much this makes sense.

Ask yourself these questions

  1. What is my desired outcome?
  2. What can I DO to make progress toward that outcome?
  3. What SYSTEM will help me with consistency?
  4. What RITUALS will support me?

Since I am taking this out of context, there’s a lot I could explain about this that’s been shared as you go through the training, however the gist for me was about focusing on the things I can control, versus meeting some abstract goal.

The idea is that you build systems/processes and rituals/habits that support the actions that lead you to your desired outcomes. But the success is in the process, because not only could you meet the desired outcome, you could surpass it! The outcomes you reach are a byproduct of the systems, rituals and actions you do.

In the end I don’t think I’ll be ditching goal setting completely, however I do think that my approach to goals setting will be different. I won’t be so focused on the end, but more focused on the actions and steps I can take to support my desired outcomes. I can’t control how many candles I sell, but I can control how I go about my daily business with my intentions focused on the processes and removing the stress and disappointment of goals that are never reached.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this. I know its out of context, but maybe the idea of reinventing how you look at things will entice you to visit The Yogipreneur Fired Up & Focused Challenge. You won’t be disappointed!  Feel free to post below with any questions you might have or your comments. And thanks for reading!

 

 

 

One thought on “Should I ditch setting goals for my business?

  1. Great idea and write up! It’s hard for us Type-A’s to not set goals…as you said I can’t see not setting any! But I do understand what the Yogipreneur is saying here. Focusing on finishing the process to get to where you want to be is so much more rewarding, than setting an end goal that depends on things you cannot control, therefore when you don’t make it, and feel like a failure, it’s really not necessarily your fault and also impacts your mood and drive for whatever the next goal you set may be. Good advice!

Leave a Reply

